Crime Writers Association Dagger Awards

Crime Writers' AssociationThe CWA Dagger Awards celebrate the very best in crime and thriller writing, and are the longest established literary awards in the UK. These premier awards in crime fiction are recognised internationally as a mark of excellence.

The longlist titles for the CWA Dagger in the Library 2011 are:

SJ Bolton (Bantam Press, Transworld) Gripping novels, described as original and spooky.
William Brodrick (Little, Brown) William Brodrick is a former monk who became a practicing barrister. In his debut novel, The Sixth Lamentation he draws upon his experience both as an Augustinian friar and as a practicing lawyer.
RJ Ellory (Orion) Award winning British thriller writer.
Jason Goodwin (Faber & Faber) Jason Goodwin is the author of the internationally acclaimed Yashim detective series, set in 1830s Istanbul.
Elly Griffths (Quercus) Elly Griffiths writes a series of crime fiction novels with a difference – rather than the protagonist being a Detective or amateur sleuth, she is Ruth Galloway, Head of Forensic Archaelogy.
Sophie Hannah (Hodder & Stoughton) Her debut psychological thriller Little Face was published five years ago to rave reviews. Simon Waterhouse, the policeman hero of all her crime fiction novels, is on a par with the great heroes of detective fiction.
John Harvey (Willian Heinemann) The first of his celebrated Charlie Resnick novels, Lonely Hearts, was named by The Times as one of the 100 most notable crime novels of the last century. He has over 100 published books.
Mo Hayder (Bantam Press, Transworld) International, bestselling award winning writer!
Susan Hill (Vintage) Gothic award winning writer. Her novels include The Woman in Black, The Mist in the Mirror and I’m the King of the Castle.
Graham Hurley (Orion) Graham Hurley’s twelve volume series of Portsmouth-based crime novels have a massive readership, for their dark plots and realistic characters.
Peter James (Macmillan) Award winning crime writer of the Detective Roy Grace series.
Philip Kerr (Quercus) Author of the excellent Bernie Gunther series.
Phil Rickman (Corvus) Author of the Merrily Watkins thriller seriesRickman is the author of  the  Merrily Watkins thriller series and ten other novels, (including two for children under the name Thom Madley.)
CJ Sansom (Macmillan) Creator of the Shardlake series, set in the reign of Henry VIII in the 16th century, whose main character is the hunchbacked lawyer Matthew Shardlake. Shardlake works for  Thomas Cromwell in Dissolution and Dark Fire, Archbishop Thomas Cranmer in Sovereign and Revelation and Queen Catherine Parr in Heartstone.
Andrew Taylor (Penguin) Award winning author of the ground breaking Roth Trilogy.
LC Tyler (Macmillan) Humorous crime novels “Tyler juggles character story, wit and clever one-liners with perfect balance” …Marcel Berlins, The Times.
  1. very nice post, i certainly love this website, keep on it

  2. Very nice and informative website! A lot of interesting information. We were looking for this.Thanks for sharing! villas greece

  3. thank you for the info, I was looking for details on it here since last weekend !

  4. Hello my friend! I want to say that this post is awesome, great written and include approximately all important infos. I would like to see more posts like this .

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: